Skip to main content

Peer Support Programmes

Peer Support Programmes

The University of Exeter has a variety of Peer Support programmes with different aims and configurations:

Peer learning programmes

(often called Peer Assisted Learning or Peer Assisted Study Sessions)

Peer learning programmes are curricula-based and develop learning communities within courses.

Peer Mentors lead a group of students through activities and facilitate discussion to enhance understanding of academic topics within a module or discipline. With the support of their Programme Organiser, Peer Mentors plan regular timetabled sessions around pertinent topics and use fun, informal activities to help mentees interact with eachother and in doing so, deepen their understanding.

Peer mentoring programmes

(often called Buddy Schemes)

Peer Mentors offer more general but tailored support and guidance to mentees (either 1-1 or in a small group). This mentoring may take place in person during scheduled or ad hoc meetings, online via email or Yammer, or a combination. Mentors are often matched with mentees based on their discipline, background and life experiences to ensure that the relevant guidance and lessons learned can be effectively passed on.

Find a Programme

To get involved with a programme listed below, either as a Peer Mentor or Mentee, please contact the Programme Organiser listed alongside.

 

Mature Student Mentoring

Support for mature students before their arrival and throughout the academic year.

Tom Allars

T.Allars@exeter.ac.uk

Care Leaver & Estranged Student Mentoring

Support for Care Leavers and estranged students.

Tom Allars

T.Allars@exeter.ac.uk

Disabled Student Peer Support Scheme

Support for incoming students with a disability throughout their first year.

Tom Allars

T.Allars@exeter.ac.uk

Careers Peer Mentoring - Access to Exeter

Careers-related mentoring and guidance for students.

Kate Foster

K.L.Foster@exeter.ac.uk

Global Chums

Support for International students.

Visit the Global Chums webpage

Global Chums (Penryn)

Support for international students studying on the Penryn campus.

Natalie Battelle

globalchums-cornwall@exeter.ac.uk

Flexible Combined Honours

Support for students on Flexible Combined Honours courses.

Marion Gibson

Marion.H.Gibson@exeter.ac.uk

Sanctuary Scholars Buddy Up

Support for students receiving Sanctuary Scholarship.

Jim Price

J.R.Price@exeter.ac.uk

 

LES Buddy Up

Pastoral buddies for students studying Life and Environmental Science courses.

Coming soon

UEBS UG Buddy Up

Buddy up for Undergraduate students in the Business School.

Alison Truelove

A.Truelove@exeter.ac.uk

UEBS PG Buddy Up

Buddy up for Postgraduate students in the Business School.

Alison Truelove

A.Truelove@exeter.ac.uk

UEBS WIE (With Industrial Experience) Buddy Up

Buddy up for With Industrial Experience students in the Business School.

Alexa Webster

A.M.L.Webster@exeter.ac.uk

Maths Peer Mentoring

Peer support scheme for Maths students.

Gihan Marasingha

G.Marasingha@exeter.ac.uk

Maths Foundation Mentoring

Peer support for students completing a Maths Foundation course.

Houry Melkonian

H.Melkonian@exeter.ac.uk

EMPS Buddy Up

Buddy up scheme for students studying Engineering, Maths, and Physics courses.

Layal Hakim

L.Hakim@exeter.ac.uk

Physics Buddy Up

Buddy up for first year Physics students.

Lucy Grain

lag218@exeter.ac.uk

Geography (Penryn) Peer Support

Peer support scheme for Geography students in Penryn.

Ashleigh Curl

A.S.Curl@exeter.ac.uk

Renewable Energy (Penryn) Peer Support

Peer support scheme for Renewable Energy students in Penryn.

Ashleigh Curl

A.S.Curl@exeter.ac.uk

 

CMH BAME Peer Mentoring

Support for Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic students in the College of Medicine and Health.

Maisha Reza

M.Reza@exeter.ac.uk

Medical Sciences PAL

Academic support for 1st year Medical Sciences students.

David MacDonald

D.C.MacDonald@exeter.ac.uk

Medical Sciences PAL (Y3 -> Y2)

Academic support for 2nd year Medical Sciences students

David MacDonald

D.C.MacDonald@exeter.ac.uk

Neuroscience PAL

Academic support for first year Neuroscience students.

Talitha Kerrigan

T.Kerrigan@exeter.ac.uk

Diagnostic Radiography (DA) Peer Mentoring

Peer support for students completing the Diagnostic Radiography course.

Rosey Davies

R.C.Davies@exeter.ac.uk

Biosciences (Penryn) Mentoring

Academic support for Biosciences students in Penryn.

Ashleigh Curl

A.S.Curl@exeter.ac.uk

Psychology (PSY1202) PAL

Academic support for students taking the PSY1202 module.

Isabella Harwood

ih321@exeter.ac.uk

Psychology (PSY1205) PAL

Academic support for students taking the PSY1205 module.

Shwetha Sathyanarayanan

ss1258@exeter.ac.uk

 

 

Humanities Families

Buddy up for students across the Faculty of HASS.

Anna Middlewick

amm236@exeter.ac.uk

HASS (Penryn) Buddy Up

Buddy up for HASS students in Penryn.

Caroline Keenan

C.Keenan@exeter.ac.uk

History PAL

Academic support for first year History students.

Levi Roach

L.Roach@exeter.ac.uk

MFL PAL

Academic support for students undertaking Foreign Language modules.

Juan Garcia Precedo

J.M.Garcia-Precedo@exeter.ac.uk

MFL Study Abroad Buddy Up

Buddy up for Foreign Language students ahead of their year abroad.

Becky Calvert

B.Calvert@exeter.ac.uk

Theology and Religion Buddy Up

Academic suppport for Theology and Religion students.

David Tollerton

D.C.Tollerton@exeter.ac.uk

Politics Buddy Up

Academic support for first year Politics students.

Naomi Cryan

nmpc201@exeter.ac.uk

SPA Buddy Up

Buddy up scheme for students studying Sociology, Philosophy, and Anthropology courses.

Coming soon

Law Tutor Peer Programme

Academic support for first year Law students.

Anne Herbert

A.Herbert@exeter.ac.uk

School of Education Buddy Up

Buddy up scheme for students within the School of Education.

George Tarling

G.Tarling3@exeter.ac.uk