Skip to main content

MYCO-TALKS | Watch again

28 Jan 2021  - Myco-talks 7: Dr Suzanne Noble & Dr Amariliz Rivera-Medina

17 Dec 2020 - Myco-talks 6: Prof Judy Berman and Dr Michail Lionakis

19 Nov 2020 - Myco-talks 5: Drs Joseph Heitman and Tobias Hohl

29 Oct 2020 - Myco-talks 4: Drs Sarah Gaffen and Alex Brand

24 Sept 2020 - Myco-talks 3: Profs Bernhard Hube and Geraldine Butler

24 Aug 2020 - Myco-talks 2: Dr Liz Ballou and Prof Bruce Klein

30 July 2020 - Myco-talks 1: Professor Arturo Casadevall and Dr Rebecca A Drummond


Submission of applications for our MRC CMM 1+3 MRes-PhD studentships is now open 

Read more and apply

The MRC CMM welcomes expressions of interest from excellent researchers who wish to submit a Fellowship application to an external funder.

Find out more and apply

Medical Mycology and Fungal Immunology MRes course, covering all aspects of medical mycology, immunity, the molecular basis of infection, and the genomics of infectious disease.

Find out more about the course and apply

M Y C O - T A L K S

The MRC CMM would like to invite you to join us at the Monthly Myco-talks, where experts in Medical Mycology and related fields will be presenting their latest research.

Recordings of all of our previous Mycotalks are available to view on our Youtube channel

Sign up for our mailing list if you would like to be first to hear about future Mycotalks, as well as selected other news from the MRC Centre for Medical Mycology. 


  • JOINING: by Zoom on the last working Thursday of each month at 4pm (UK time) | 5pm CET | 8am West Coast | 11am East Coast.
  • REGISTRATION: For each meeting you will have to register and will receive the zoom link to join by email.
  • CANCELLATION: if you are no longer available to attend, please DO CANCEL your registration to make your space available for another attendee.

Current 2020/21 programme of invited speakers: 

Talk number

Meeting date


Deputy chair




S1 E1

30 July 2020

Sarah Gaffen

Jay Kolls

Arturo Casadevall

Updating the fungal infection-mammalian selection hypothesis at the end of the Cretaceous Period




Rebecca Drummond

Understanding Mechanisms of Organ-Specific AntiFungal Immunity

S1 E2

27 Aug 2020

Gordon Brown

Sarah Gaffen

Liz Ballou

The Cryptococcus neoformans Titan cell is an inducible and regulated morphotype underlying pathogenesis




Bruce Klein

Genetic variation at the Interleukin-6 locus and human susceptibility to fungal infection

S1 E3

24 Sept 2020

Neil Gow

Jay Kolls

Bernhard Hube

The virulence and avirulence functions of candidalysin




Geraldine Butler

Ongoing hybridisation in Candida species

S1 E4

29 Oct 2020

Oliver Kurzai

Jay Kolls 

Sarah Gaffen

A Tale of Two Cytokines: IL-17 and IL-22 in driving oral mucosal immunity to Candida albicans 




Alex Brand 

Rsr1 - a simple GTPase with a complex function in the cellular organisation of Candida albicans.  

S1 E5

19 Nov 2020

Gordon Brown

Oliver Kurzai

Joe Heitman 

RNAi-dependent epimutations evoke transient antifungal drug resistance




Tobias Hohl 

Foiling Fungal Invasion: Lessons from the Mycobiome and Pulmonary Antifungal Immunity.  

S1 E6

17 Dec 2020

Joseph Heitman

Gordon Brown

Judith Berman 

Tolerating challenges: lessons from pathogenic yeast

        Michail Lionakis

Aberrant type 1 immunity drives mucosal fungal infection susceptibility

S1 E7

28 Jan 2021

Sarah Gaffen Alex Brand  Suzanne Noble Candida albicans, a fungal pathobiont of the mammalian gut
        Amariliz Rivera  Novel insights on the regulation of interferons and innate antifungal immunity

S1 E8

25 Feb 2021

Alex Brand Judith Berman Nelesh Govender Milestones in the Prevention and Management of Cryptococcal Meningitis
        Anna Selmecki Genome plasticity and the acquisition of antifungal drug resistance in Candida species
Please be aware the timing of the 25 Mar session in your region may be affected by daylight saving time.

S1 E9

25 Mar 2021

Iliyan Iiiev Joe Heitman Scott Filler Aspergillus fumigatus transcription factor expression and function during invasion of the mammalian lung
        Tihana Bicanic  TBC 
S1 E10 29 April 2021 Geraldine Butler Neil Gow Leah Cowen TBC
        Iliyan Iliev TBC
S1 E11 27 May 2021 Judith Berman Geraldine Butler Neil Gow TBC
        Floyd Wormley TBC
S1 E12 24 June 2021 Sarah Gaffen Iliyan Iiiev Julian Naglik TBC
        Elaine Bignell TBC
S1 E13 29 July 2021 Jay Kolls Gordon Brown Duncan Wilson TBC
        Jules Ene TBC

Organising Committee:

Gordon Brown, Alex Brand and Neil Gow (MRC CMM, UK), Sarah L Gaffen (University of Pittsburgh, USA), Iliyan D Iliev (Weill Cornell Medical College, USA), Geraldine Butler (University College Dublin, Ireland), Oliver Kurtzai (University of Wuerzburg, Germany), Judith Berman (Tel Aviv University, Israel), Joseph Heitman (Duke University School of Medicine, USA) and Jay Kolls (Tulane University, USA).