Skip to main content

Funding and scholarships for students

Award details

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships Scheme - September 2024 entry

About the award

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) and UK universities. The scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at candidates from eligible low and middle income Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study a Masters programme in the UK.  

Awards are offered under six development themes:

  1. Science and technology for development
  2. Strengthening health systems and capacity
  3. Promoting innovation and entrepreneurship
  4. Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  5. Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  6. Access, inclusion and opportunity.

Scholarship awards are programme-specific and decided by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) on an annual basis. For September 2024 entry, there are up to two scholarships at the University of Exeter, available to eligible applicants entering the following full-time Masters programmes: 

Entry requirements

For more information, including country and candiate eligibility, please see the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships section of the CSC website:

Applications for the 2024 Commonwealth Shared Scholarships open on 16 November 2023 and close at 16:00 on 14 December 2023.  

How to apply

Candidates should apply - by the published deadline - for both:

  • the scholarship itself - via the CSC's online application system; and
  • your chosen Masters programme from the list above - online via the programme webpage.

We encourage candidates to apply to the University well ahead of the scholarship deadline so that we can process an admission decision beforehand. 

Please note that all applicants for this scheme at the University of Exeter must have met our English Language requirements to be considered for nomination. If you have not met the English Language requirement for your programme by the scholarship deadline then, as well as submitting your applications, please send an email to to tell us the steps you are taking to meet it.    

(Previous scholarship candidates who are holding a deferred programme offer and considering re-applying for this year's scholarship should check the list above to see if your programme remains eligible before making your new scholarship application. If your programme is no longer eligible then please revisit our funding database to search for other awards that may apply to you.) 


Application deadline:14th December 2023
Number of awards:2
Value:Full tuition fees; living costs; airfares and allowances
Duration of award:for 1 year