Skip to main content

Gender Equality Group (GEG)

The University of Exeter has been a member of Advance HE's Athena SWAN charter since 2011 and has held an institutional Silver award since 2018, while departmental awards are held by all nine of our STEMM departments at either Bronze or Silver level.

Following on from the University's engagement in these gender equality accreditations, the Gender Equality Group meets termly to discuss a range of gender-related issues affecting staff and students at our institution and monitor our Gender Equality Action Plan.

The Group is chaired by Jane Chafer, Director of Communications, Marketing, Global and Student Recruitment and brings together academic and professional services staff, students and colleagues from the Students' Guild (Exeter) and the Students' Union (Cornwall).

VCEG Level Chair Jane Chafer 
Academic Member  Dr. Rachel Fenton 
Academic Member Lauren Rodgers
Academic Member Yolanda Hill
Academic Member Helen Eyles
Non-binary Representative Gary McLachlan
Trans Representative Lena Worwood
HR/PS Representative
Claire Breading
PD/PS Representative Rachel Brewer

SU Representative (Penryn)

Charlotte Agnew

Students’ Guild Rep

Ruby Jones
EDI Advisor Rae Preston 
EDI Manager Dorcas Cowan
Project Support 

Shraddha Chaudhary 

Policy Team representative

Charlotte Woollam