Skip to main content

Sexual Orientation Equality Group (SOEG)

Each year the University participates in the Stonewall Workplace Equality Index (WEI), a benchmarking tool which evaluates our initiatives and helps us better understand the challenges of creating an inclusive working environment for LGBT employees.

Following on from the University's engagement in these Sexual Orientation equality accreditations, the Sexual Orientation Equality Group meets termly to discuss a range of sexual orientation and gender identity-related issues affecting staff and students at our institution and monitor our Sexual Orientation Equality Action Plan.

The Group is chaired by Dr Michael Wykes, Director of Policy, Planning and Business Intelligence and brings together academic and professional services staff, students and colleagues from the Students' Guild (Exeter) and the Students' Union (Cornwall).



UEB Level Chair Michael Wykes
Academic Member  Professor Jana Funke
Academic Member Professor Rebecca Langlands
PhD/PTA Member TBC
LGBTQ+ Network Representative Jasper Privett
Student Wellbeing Helen Anderson
Policy Team Representative Charlotte Woollam
Professional Services Representative Rosie Logiudice
Trans Representative  TBC
Non-binary Representative Caspian Robson
Penryn Representative Corrina Lowry
LGBTQ+ Society Rep Marianne Baly
SU Pride Society Rep Helen Wightman-Smith
VP Liberation & Equality, Exeter Students' Guild Emma de Saram
The SU Welfare & Inclusivity Kira Orchard
EDI Advisor Deborah Lee
EDI Manager Dorcas Cowan
Project Support  Tom Caro