Skip to main content

Gender Equality Group (GEG)

Gender Equality Group

The University of Exeter has been a member of Advance HE's Athena Swan charter since 2011 and has held an institutional Silver award since 2018, while departmental awards are held by all nine of our STEMM departments at either Bronze or Silver level.

Following on from the University's engagement in these gender equality accreditations, the Gender Equality Group meets termly to discuss a range of gender-related issues affecting staff and students at our institution and monitor our Gender Equality Action Plan. Work is currently underway towards an application to renew our institutional Silver award including the development of a new gender equality action plan. Our current Gender Equality Action Plan, extended to 2023, can be found HERE.

The Group is co-chaired by Professor Dan Charman (Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean, ESE) and Imelda Rogers (Director of HR) and brings together academic and professional services staff, students and colleagues from the Students' Guild (Devon) and the Students' Union (Cornwall).

VCEG Level Chair Jane Chafer 
Academic Member  Dr Rachel Fenton 
Academic Member (ECR) Vacant
Academic Member Dr Sabiha Allouche
Academic Member Dr Helen Eyles
Academic Member Dr Joao Florencio
Non-binary Representative Dr Daniel Fountain
Trans Representative Lena Worwood
HR Representative
Lynn Stoyle
People Development Representative Rachel Brewer

SU Representative (Penryn)

Georgina Griskeviciene

Students’ Guild Rep

EDI Advisor Rae Preston 
EDI Manager Dorcas Cowan
Project Support 

Tom Caro 

HR Policy Team representative

Charlotte Woollam

EDI Data Analyst

Taylor Watson

Current GEG priorities

The key priorities from the Action Plan will be published soon along with the 2024 version of the Action Plan.