Skip to main content

Management Structure

The Director, Professor Gordon Brown has responsibility for the strategic direction and development of the MRC CMM, in consultation with the International Scientific Advisory Board (ISAB), Management Board (MB) and other centre principal investigators.

The Director is supported by three Deputy Directors (Professor Elaine Bignell [research], Professor Alistair Brown [training and technology development] and Professor Adilia Warris [clinical]), plus a Research Centre Manager (Dr Alberto Muñoz).‌

The ISAB is comprised of national and international experts in medical mycology, including an MRC representative. The ISAB provides the MB with objective, independent advice on our development, scientific strategy and research, training and translational activities. The ISAB receives minutes of all MB meetings, evaluates annual reports and undertakes formal Centre reviews (Years 2 and 4).

ISAB members:

University College Dublin  Professor Geraldine Butler (Chair)
Tel Aviv University Professor Judith Berman
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine  Professor Sarah Gaffen
Duke University School of Medicine Professor Joe Heitman
Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine Professor David Lalloo
Centre for Discovery and Innovation Dr David Perlin
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health Professor Arturo Casadevall
Leibniz Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology – Hans Knöll Institute Professor Axel Brakhage 

The MB is an integral and essential part of our governing structure, and an important component of University oversight of activities within the Centre. The MB meets three times a year to advise on strategy, scientific direction, training and progress. The MB will help oversee the research and training programmes, allocation of funding, students and fellows to cross-disciplinary projects as well as the commercialisation, translation and outreach activities. One current MRC CMM student is invited to attend these meetings, and is rotating between meetings.”

MB members:

Director Gordon Brown
Co-director Training Al Brown
Co-director Clinical Adilia Warris
Co-director Research Elaine Bignell
MRC CMM PI Alex Brand
MRC CMM PI Duncan Wilson
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Impact) Neil Gow
Director of Research Services and Doctoral College Astrid Wissenburg
Director of Innovation, Impact and Business (IIB) Sean Fielding
Head of Department for Biosciences (in CLES) James Wakefield
Director of IBCS (CMH) Noel Morgan
Pro-Vice-Chancellor & Executive Dean CLES Dan Charman
Pro-Vice-Chancellor & Executive Dean CMH Clive Ballard
Biosciences Director of Education CLES Mark Ramsdale / Alan Brown
College Director of Postgraduate Research CMH Chris Morris
College Director of Postgraduate Research CLES Jon Blount
MRC/UKRI representative Carolyn Johnson
MRC CMM Centre Manager Alberto Muñoz
MRC CMM Student representative TBD (one student at every meeting - rotating)