Can't find a programme?

Peer Support Programmes

The University of Exeter has a variety of Peer Support programmes with different aims and configurations:

Peer learning programmes

(often called Peer Assisted Learning or Peer Assisted Study Sessions)

Peer learning programmes are curricula-based and develop learning communities within courses.

Peer Mentors lead a group of students through activities and facilitate discussion to enhance understanding of academic topics within a module or discipline. With the support of their Programme Organiser, Peer Mentors plan regular timetabled sessions around pertinent topics and use fun, informal activities to help mentees interact with eachother and in doing so, deepen their understanding.

Peer mentoring programmes

(often called Buddy Schemes)

Peer Mentors offer more general but tailored support and guidance to mentees (either 1-1 or in a small group). This mentoring may take place in person during scheduled or ad hoc meetings, online via email or Yammer, or a combination. Mentors are often matched with mentees based on their discipline, background and life experiences to ensure that the relevant guidance and lessons learned can be effectively passed on.

Find a Programme

To get involved with a programme listed below, either as a Peer Mentor or Mentee, please contact the Programme Organiser listed alongside.

Mature Student Mentoring

Support for mature students before their arrival and throughout the academic year.

Tom Allars

T.Allars@exeter.ac.uk

CMH BAME Mentoring

Support for Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic students in the College of Medicine and Health.

Vrinda Nayak

V.Nayak@exeter.ac.uk

Care Leaver & Estranged Student Mentoring

Support for Care Leavers and estranged students.

Rachael Grimshire

R.Diffey@exeter.ac.uk

Peer-Assisted Careers Coaching

Careers-related mentoring and guidance for students.

Oliver Laity

O.J.Laity@exeter.ac.uk

Degree Apprenticeships Peer Mentoring

Support for students on Degree Apprenticeships programmes.

Jess Fawell

jf283@exeter.ac.uk

Global Chums

Support for International students.

Visit the Global Chums webpage

Flexible Combined Honours

Support for students on Flexible Combined Honours courses

James Platts

jp676@exeter.ac.uk

Sports Scholarship

Support for students on the Sports Scholarship programme

Nicky Savill

N.A.Savill@exeter.ac.uk

CLES Buddy Up

Support for students in disciplines across the college.

Ben Lane

J.B.H.Lane@exeter.ac.uk

Psychology: Introduction to Biological Psychology (PSY1202)

Academic support for students taking the PSY1202 module.

Alice Cassani

ac882@exeter.ac.uk

Psychology: Introduction to Statistics (PSY1205)

Academic support for students taking the PSY1205 module.

Petar Atanasov & Selina Tang

pa323@exeter.ac.uk

ht380@exeter.ac.uk

Biosciences (Penryn)

Academic support for Biosciences students in Penryn.

Andrew Pye & Ella Simpson

A.J.Pye@exeter.ac.uk

E.Simpson3@exeter.ac.uk

Sport Psychology (ESS2710)

Academic support for students taking the ESS2710 module.

Megan Walters

mw630@exeter.ac.uk

Mathematics (Streatham)

Academic support for students on 1st year core modules in Exeter.

Gihan Marasingha

G.Marasingha@exeter.ac.uk

Engineering

Academic support for 1st year Engineering students.

Pippa Greenwood

P.H.Greenwood@exeter.ac.uk

Computer Science

Academic support for 1st year Computer Science students.

Pippa Greenwood

P.H.Greenwood@exeter.ac.uk

Physics Buddy Scheme

Support for 1st year Physics students.

Eleanor Barron

eb636@exeter.ac.uk

Mathematics (Penryn)

Academic support for 1st year Maths students in Penryn.

Fintan May

F.May@exeter.ac.uk

Renewable Energy (Penryn)

Academic support for 1st year Renewable Energy students.

Fintan May

F.May@exeter.ac.uk

English: Approaches to Criticism (EAS1032)

Academic support for students taking the EAS1032 module.

Treasa De Loughry

T.De-Loughry@exeter.ac.uk

History

Academic support for 1st year History students.

Matt Rendle

M.Rendle@exeter.ac.uk

Modern Foreign Languages

Academic support for Language students.

Juan Garcia Precedo

J.M.Garcia-Precedo@exeter.ac.uk

Archaeology

Online support for 1st year Archaeology students.

Hannah Britton

hdb205@exeter.ac.uk

Drama

Support for 1st year Drama students.

Emily Kreider

E.Kreider@exeter.ac.uk

Theology and Religion

Support for 1st year Theology and Religion students.

Hannah Lindsay

hcl209@exeter.ac.uk

Q-Step Peer2Peer

Student-led drop-in sessions for Q-Step students.

Hannah Murdock

H.Ellis-Murdock@exeter.ac.uk

Visit the Q-Step Webpage

SPA Buddy Scheme

Support for Sociology, Philosophy and Anthropology students.

Darren Green

Darren.Green@exeter.ac.uk

Graduate School of Education

Academic support for GSE students.

Alexandra Allan

A.J.Allan@exeter.ac.uk

Institute of Arab and Islamic Studies

Academic support for IAIS students.

Fatima Rawan

F.Rawan@exeter.ac.uk

Law Transition2HE

Support for students who meet 1+ of the following: from a 'Low Participation Neighbourhood', BAME, estranged from family (e.g. Care Leaver), have a physical disability, have a mental health condition, International student.

Charlie Bishop

C.P.Bishop@exeter.ac.uk

Law Syndicates

Academic support for Law students

Alice Venn

A.L.Venn@exeter.ac.uk

Medical Sciences

Academic support for 1st year Medical Sciences students.

David MacDonald

D.C.MacDonald@exeter.ac.uk

Medical Sciences (Y3 -> Y2)

Academic support for 2nd year Medical Sciences students.

Aysha Saeed & Kristin Allan

as1093@exeter.ac.uk

ka368@exeter.ac.uk

Medical Imaging (Term 1)

Academic support for 1st year Medical Imaging students led by 2nd years

Robert Meertens

R.M.Meertens@exeter.ac.uk

Medical Imaging (Term 2)

Academic support or 1st year Medical Imaging students led by 3rd years

Robert Meertens

R.M.Meertens@exeter.ac.uk

Business Studies

Support for direct entry 3rd year students who have progressed from Exeter College.

business-school-outreach@exeter.ac.uk

UEBS Buddy Up Scheme

Support for Accounting, Management and Economics students

Alison Truelove

A.Truelove@exeter.ac.uk