Exeter-Habib Conversations: conversations in Postcolonial Islamic Spiritualties

An Institute of Arab and Islamic Studies research event
Date15 October 2021
Time16:00 to 17:30
PlaceOnline

Babak Rahimi (UC San Diego) Writing Muharram: Imperial Cultures and Cultural Representations of Shiʿi Iran, 1687–1879

On IAIS and Habib University Facebook pages

Exeter-Habib Seminars
Decolonial Islamic Spiritualities
Fridays 4pm BST (8pm Karachi) – then Fridays 5pm GMT (9pm Karachi)

In the academic year, 2020-2021, Habib University’s program in Comparative Humanities and the University of Exeter’s Institute of Arab and Islamic Studies launched a fortnightly webinar series titled, Islam After Colonialism. The series charted the dramatic transformations – under the devastating global impact of modern apartheid colonial rule – in the nature of ‘Islam’ in South Asia, across culture, religion, politics, society and the arts.

The decolonial question of alternative pasts and futures was an important part of the series, given that contemporary concepts and imaginations of history, religion, politics, and ethics remain hostage to the modern colonial heritage. This year, our new series Decolonial Islamic Spiritualities, will focus in on the spiritual, ethical, and religious resources that have been marginalized or obscured through the co-optation of ‘religion’ by colonialism and its inheritor, nationalism.


ProviderInstitute of Arab and Islamic Studies

Add this event to your calendar
Bookmark and Share